Cranberry Bliss Bars (Better than Starbucks!)

I spend a lot of money during the holidays. While I was still applying to the principle of “a gift for [insert person], two gifts for me”, I would get myself lots of snacks while I shop. When I was still super obsessed with Starbucks, I would go in, grab a caramel macchiato and a cranberry bliss bar, and $7 would be gone.

I haven’t bought a cranberry bliss bar from them in a couple of years now – though I have many urges to get a whole tray whenever I go get a coffee. It’s quite dangerous.

Then I saw Averie’s copycat recipe.

Since I haven’t had one in a while, and I have never really made a “bar”, I decided to follow her instructions as closely as I could. I used whole wheat flour because that was the only thing I have on hand, and I used less white chocolate chips for the frosting because I didn’t feel like making the drizzle (lazy, I know).

These bars turned out amazing! It had everything I remembered from the Starbucks version and more! The bars tasted nuttier and not as sweet, so this would go perfectly for breakfast (and it will still be healthier than a muffin)!

Recipe from Averie Cooks

Printable Recipe!

Makes 8 bars

Ingredients:

Bars
1 stick unsalted butter, melted
1 large egg
3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup white chocolate chips
1/2 cup craisins

Frosting
3/4 cup white chocolate chips, melted
4 oz whipped cream cheese, room temperature
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups confectioner’s sugar (plus more to taste)
1/4 cup craisins

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350F. Line a 8″x8″ pan with parchment paper. Alternatively, use a 9″ silicone pie pan.
2. To make the bars: Combine melted butter, egg, brown sugar, and vanilla.
3. Stir in flour and salt (in increments), then stir in white chocolate chips and craisins.
4. Pour batter into prepared pan and bake for 18-20 minutes, or until toothpick test comes out clean. Cool completely before frosting.
5. To make the frosting: Beat together melted white chocolate with cream cheese and vanilla until smooth. Add confectioner’s sugar, 1/2 cup at a time, and beat until smooth, to your desired consistency and sweetness. (2 cups should be enough, but feel free to add another 1/2 cup if you like your frosting sweeter!)
6. Frost the cooled bars (you probably will not be using all the frosting). Sprinkle (or arrange) the craisins evenly.
7. Let the bars set for a minimum 1 hour before slicing. They can be stored in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to a week.

2 thoughts on “Cranberry Bliss Bars (Better than Starbucks!)

What do you think?

