Shortbread Four Ways (Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap)

About a month ago I had signed up for the 2012 Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap, hosted by Lindsay from Love and Olive Oil and Julie from The Little Kitchen. In addition, this was partnered with Cookies for Kids’ Cancer. Great fun for great cause!

What happened during this cookie swap is that I had to send three food bloggers a dozen cookies each. In return, I receive three different dozens of cookies from three other bloggers. It is a great way to meet other food bloggers out there and try out cookies.

My three matches were Valerie from EyeChow, Emily from Pie with Sparkles, and Christine from Chew Nibble Nosh. Check out their blogs when you have a chance!

I sent them each a dozen short bread, but 4 variations (3 cookies each).

Basic Shortbread

Chocolate Dipped Shortbread

Cinnamon Sugar Shortbread

Candied Ginger Shortbread

In return, I got cookies from Erin (right) from Erin Cooks, Alyssa (left) from What’s Cooking, Love?, and Rachel (center) from Studio Cuisine. Check out their blogs as well!

Erin sent me caramel apple cookies (6 with caramel filling, 6 with caramel chips)

Alyssa sent me peppermint m&m pudding cookies. USPS failed quite badly and caused all her cookies to spill into the box. I recovered the cookies and they still tasted delicious!

Rachel sent me brown butter chocolate chip cookies.

I’m really excited to check out these recipes along with all the other participants!

Back to my shortbread…it honestly took me FOREVER to decide what to bake. I made them all the night before the sending deadline as I was so indecisive. I wanted to make something that will store well, and I think that shortbread actually tastes better with age (only to a certain extent of course…). Therefore, I settled on shortbread and played with the recipe. Rather than sending them each with 12 plain, boring shortbread, I decided to add some variations, based on the article from the New York Times a long time ago. I made a big batch of the master dough, divided it up, and then added the additions. These cookies all turned out delicious, and I almost ate them all and didn’t send out any. I can’t wait to try out the rest of the variations from the article.

I enjoyed my three dozen cookies, and hopefully my recipients enjoyed my shortbread as well!

Adapted from The New York Times (with variations)

Printable Recipe!

Ingredients:

Basic Shortbread
4 sticks butter, room temperature
1 cup sugar
2 egg yolks
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup cornstarch
1/4 tsp salt

Chocolate-Dipped Variation
1/2 cup chocolate candy coating

Cinnamon Sugar Variation
2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup light brown sugar

Candied Ginger Variation
1/3 cup candied ginger, chopped

Directions:
1. Beat butter and sugar until creamy.
2. Slowly add flour, then cornstarch, and then salt. This gets quite messy so it’s very important to add the dry ingredients in increments.
3. Divide the dough by 4. Roll two into logs 1-1/2″ to 2″ in diameter. Wrap in plastic wrap. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.
4. Add brown sugar and cinnamon into the third batch of dough. Mix well then roll into a log 1-1/2″ to 2″ in diameter. Wrap in plastic wrap. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.
5. Add candied ginger into the fourth batch of dough. Mix well then roll into a log 1-1/2″ to 2″ in diameter. Wrap in plastic wrap. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.
6. Preheat oven to 275F. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or use a silicone mat. Once the oven is preheated, take out the cookie logs (one at a time) and slice the cookies at 1/4″ thin. Place the cookies 1/8″ apart and bake for 30 minutes. Transfer to cooling rack and cool completely.
7. Melt chocolate candy coating in the microwave or a double boiler. Dip the baked and cooled shortbread into chocolate, and set them on a wax paper until chocolate is set.

3 thoughts on “Shortbread Four Ways (Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap)

  1. Pingback: Cookie-Swap Roundup! | Pie With Sparkles

What do you think?

